

ILFORD ATHLETIC CLUB

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Held at Ilford Sports Club 8pm

on 14th MARCH 2023

In Attendance: Ernie Forsyth (Chair), Andy Catton (Gen Sec), Dave Ainsworth, Neil Crisp, Dianne Crisp, Bill Green, Pauline Tester, Dennis Briggs, Gary Floate, Wes Clarke, Danny Holeyman, Gaye Young, Launa Broadly, Anna Crawley, Dairmuid MacDonnell, Rob Sargent, John Batchelor. Paul Holloway. Satha Alaganandasundaram, Steve Crane. Jim Tilbrook, Wayne Hick, Aaron Hick, Carlie Quirem, Adam Coals, Sharon Honey, Martin Clarke, Malcolm Muir. Richard Woolterton. Fabrizio Stefanoni, Trevor Robinson,

- **1. Apologies:** Colin Fox, Bob Dobson, Brian Armstrong, Tony Perkins, Nicola Hopkinson, Ed Shilabeer, Pam Jones, Robin Davies and Tony Nixon.
- 2.. Last year's AGM minutes of 8/3/22 were agreed as a true record.

3. Matters arising from last AGM minutes

None - AGM minutes were posted on club website and made available to members in April last year.

4. General Secretary's Report:

Thanks to the main committee and centenary committee for all their hard work in the last year. Also a big thank you to Bill Green for the newsletters and press reports and to all of the team managers and coaches. All of the results and achievements for this year have been documented in the press reports which are all available on the Club website and there have been some great individual performances in the last 12 months. The highlight of which was Ahmed Abdulle with his 5,000m and 10,000m track times ranking him third in both on all time club list. Also his National and Southern cross country placings which were both the 4th highest achieved by an Ilford athlete.

Unfortunately, we had relatively poor team performances in all disciplines other than the Essex road and xc relay successes.

In the SAL, EYAL (with Orion) and SCVAC vets league we have continued to struggle with numbers of members prepared to compete.

A positive is the Foundation Group of young athletes, established by Ernie, which is going from strength to strength both in numbers and competitive improvements.

Chigwell Row expenditure has increased significantly due to huge rise in service charges, up from £800 to £2,500.

A new gazebo has been purchased and a new storage shed installed at Chigwell Row.

The honours board has at long last had all names of past Presidents engraved on it and is located in the Sports Club boardroom.

Cricklefields portacabin is very dilapidated and needs replacing. A new purpose built facility is being worked on by the committee and will require lots of fundraising.

The ELVIS Newman Hilly 5 and 10 Mile Cross country were very successful. Thank you to all organisers and volunteers.

Upcoming Centenary main event is at Fairlop Waters on Saturday 8th July 2023.

Bill Green still has some stock of Centenary T-shirts for sale.

Sadly, Phyllis Perkins/ Winger passed away last month. Achievements were 1500m world record in 1954, 3000m world records in 1954 & 1955. National Cross Country Champion 1951 and 1952.

4th at the Commonwealth Games 1962 and represented Britain at the 1960 Rome Olympics.

Social Media — all members were reminded of the need to follow the EA codes of conduct. Personal disparaging comments will not be condoned.

5. Finance Officers Report

Wes Clarke presented the audited accounts. Some extraordinary costs and rises in expenditures e.g. Chiqwell Row running costs were highlighted. But overall annual income versus expenses was "break even" and club finances remain healthy. There were no questions.

ILFORD ATHLETIC CLUB

OFFICERS & HONORARY POSITIONS 2022/23 AND NOMINATIONS FOR 2023/24

President

Chairperson General Secretary Finance Officer Membership Officer Media & Publicity Officer Social Events Officer Track & Field Officer Road & Cross Country Officer

Walking Officer

Coaches Coordinator Officer

Youth Development Officer(s) * Schools Liaison Officer *

Welfare & Child Protection Officers

(Female & Male) *

Mens & Ladies Track & Field

Mens Road & Cross Country Manager Bill Green

Ladies Road & Cross Country

Manager

Walking Team Manager

Veterans Track & Field Manager

Mens Road & Cross Country Captain Ladies Road & Cross Country Captain

Auditors

President Elect 2024/26

* non committee positions

Gary Floate

Ernie Forsyth Andy Catton Wesley Clarke Nicola Hopkinson Bill Green Sharon Honey Andy Catton Bill Green Steve Uttley Vacant

Wayne Hick & Gary Floate

lan Gains Rachel Halpin

Wayne Hick

Bill Green

Steve Uttley Henry Ricketts

Dennis Briggs Carlie Qirem

John Mackenzie & Tim

Heaney

Pam Jones & John Batchelor Ernie Forsyth Andy Catton Wesley Clarke Nicola Hopkinson Bill Green Sharon Honey

Andy Catton Bill Green Steve Uttley **Gary Floate**

Wayne Hick & Gary Floate

Carlie Qirem & Stephen

Crane

Wayne Hick

Fabrizio Stefanoni Fabrizio Stefanoni

Steve Uttley **Henry Ricketts**

Danny Holeyman

6. To Elect IAC Club Committee officers and Honorary positions for 2023/2024

There was a block vote on all posts where members were continuing to stand unopposed or as nominated by Chair and Secretary - which were unanimously agreed.

There was a separate vote for the position of Mens Road and Cross Country Captain. Fabrizio Stefanoni proposed Danny Holeyman and Adam Coals proposed Dennis Briggs.

Following a ballot Danny Holeyman was duly elected

President Elect

Presidents for 2023/24 are Pam Jones & John Batchelor. Gary Floate handed the Chain of Office on to John Batchelor. Thank you to Gary for everything he has done during three years term of office. Dianne & Neil Crisp were proposed by Andy Catton and seconded by Ernie Forsyth for joint presidents elect for 2024/2026.

7. To Elect Life Members

None were nominated

8. Trustees are now required in order to be compliant with the new EA Club Constitution rules when a club owns property (the land at Chigwell Row) and to be legally named as "proprietors" at the land registry. The meeting agreed to elect Andy Catton, Ernie Forsyth, Martin Clarke & Wes Clarke as Trustees.

9. AOB

Our club rules state that annual membership fees for competing athletes in all categories applicable will increase if England Athletics competition licence fees increase, as previously agreed. Therefore £1.00 increase required by EA for 2023/24 means that all applicable subs for the same period will increase by £1. Members will be notified to increase their standing orders.

Rob Sargent asked if club information notices can be sent in all formats please as he missed the notice of Christmas / New Year track closure times.

Thank you to everyone who attended the meeting.

Meeting Closed at 20:49pm

Date of Next AGM March 2024 TBC